The Bounds of Thermal Sculpture

I read an article from volume 31, no. 4 of Leonardo in 1998 titled “Between Form and Force: Connecting Architectonic and Thermal Spaces,” written by Mario Ramiro, the experimental artist mentioned in the previous post. I am curious about the bounds of the heat created by these sculptures, or any radiant heat object; are the volumes clearly defined or do they slowly blend into surrounding volumes?

Image from the article “Between Form and Force: Connecting Architectonic and Thermal Spaces” published in Leonardo 1998 vol. 31, no. 4, p. 255

I imagine that by creating irregularly shaped physical bases for the thermal sculpture (like the one pictured), that Ramiro intended to create a volume of heat whose form corresponds to that of the physical base. In my drawing I have expressed this immaterial volume of heat as a cloud with somewhat defined and slowly fading bounds, because this is my initial idea of what it may look like. Now the task is to record the real situation occurring around a radiant heat object and to bring it into optic existence.

This entry was posted in Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment